City of the Living of the Dead
This is a 1980 Italian horror film directed by Lucio Fulci.
It is the first part of the unofficial Gates of Hell trilogy which includes The
Beyond and The House by the Cemetery (I have reviewed this one).
The Plot
In the small New England town of Dunwich, a priest commits
suicide by hanging himself in the church cemetery which somehow opens the gates
of hell allowing the dead to rise. A New York City reporter, teams up with a
young psychic to travel to the town where they team up with another couple to
find a way to close the gates. They have to close it before All Saints Day or
the dead all over the world will rise up and kill the living.
Well before I begin the review I would like to say Happy New
Year and wish you all the best in 2016. This year I will be trying to review a mixture
of different movie genres this is because not everyone will want to always read
my horror reviews and also it is a great way to mix my movie review blog up. If
you have any movie suggestions you would like me to review feel free to leave
comments in the comment section of this blog post; also you tweet me @PolishMovieZoe
or you can email me: zoeapearson96@gmail.com
Now for the actual review!! Well this film is quite fun and
very gross at times. There are some interesting gross scenes in the film such
as raining meal worms!! This film is great for what it is.
The up close shots in the first part of this film I really
liked and also with the scene where there are three men in that restaurant/bar
place and the camera does up close shots of their faces which was pretty cool.
The score suits the film well. The acting in this film was
very good it was not over the top or cheesy at all by any means.
The one character in this film you must avoid is that darn
creepy ass priest. He hangs himself why?? Anyways he is my least favourite
character because he is weird and just creepy…
The drill scene is one of my favourite scenes in this film I
thought it was very good. Also, thought when the creepy ass priest’s hand is
bitten I thought that was funny!!
The ending I really liked. It had much more of a spooky
element vibe to it and also because of the way one of the characters died in
this film was quite good. (I shall not say whom, as it’ll spoil the film for
you).
Overall, I thought this was a decent horror film. I do
slightly prefer House By the cemetery. I do think everyone should check this
film out!! It’s really good for what it is!!
Rating: 6.5/10




Comments
Post a Comment